UCR

Undergraduate Neuroscience Major



Faculty Researchers


Name
Title
Contact
Description
Adams, Michael E. Ph.D. Director, Neuroscience Graduate Program; Professor, Departments of Cell Biology & Neuroscience and Entomology phone: 951-827-4746
Fax: 951-827-3087
E-mail: michael.adams@ucr.edu
Hormonal regulation of development and innate behaviors; isolation, characterization and physiological actions of arthropod venom toxins.
Andersen, G. John Ph.D. Professor, Department of Psychology phone: 951-827-4383
Fax: 951-827-3985
E-mail: andersen@citrus.ucr.edu
Interactions of the visual and vestibular systems in determining spatial orientation. Computational models of high level visual processing; motion perception, object and scene perception.
Burgess, Curt Ph.D. Professor, Department of Psychology phone: 951-827-2392
Fax: 951-827-3985
E-mail: curt@ucr.edu
Neuropsychology of language and memory; computational models of high-dimensional memory; connectionist models of language and memory; psycholinguisitcs.
Carson, Monica J. Ph.D. Associate Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences phone: 951-827-6089
Fax: 951-827-5504
E-mail: monica.carson@ucr.edu
The role of microglia in the developing and adult CNS during health or neurodegenerative and autoimmune disease.
Chiarello, Christine Ph.D. Professor, Department of Psychology phone: 951-827-5096
Fax: 951-827-3985
E-mail: chrisc@galaxy.ucr.edu
Left and right hemisphere contributions to language comprehension in the normal brain; neural bases of word meaning interpretation; mechanisms of cerebral hemispheric interaction.
Cho, Jun-Hyeong Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Cell Biology & Neuroscience

phone: 951-827-2560
Fax: 951-827-3087
E-mail: juncho@ucr.edu

We investigate neural circuit mechanisms of emotional learning and memory using electrophysiological and optogenetic approaches in fear conditioning model.  We also study the role of long-term synaptic plasticity in the formation, extinction and modulation of conditioned fear memory. 
Curras-Collazo, Margarita C. Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Cell Biology & Neuroscience phone: 951-827-3960
Fax: 951-827-2966
E-mail: margarita.curras@ucr.edu
Neurophysiology, neuropharmacology, neuroendocrinology, excitotoxicity. Identification and function of glutamate receptor subunits in neuroendocrine cells, physiological regulation of glutamate receptor expression, mechanisms underlying neuroprotection.
Currie, Scott N. Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Cell Biology & Neuroscience phone: 951-827-2411
Fax: 951-827-2966
E-mail: currie@mail.ucr.edu
Network, synaptic and cellular mechanisms that control locomotion in the vertebrate spinal cord and brainstem.
Ethell, Iryna M. Ph.D. Associate Professor, Division of Biomedical Sciences phone: 951-827-2186
Fax: 951-827-5517
E-mail:
iryna.ethell@ucr.edu
Studies of the molecular mechanisms that trigger dendritic spine formation.
Fiacco, Todd A. Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Cell Biology & Neuroscience phone: 951-827-7865
Fax: 951-827-3087
E-mail:
todd.fiacco@ucr.edu
Understanding the function of neuron-to-astrocyte signaling in health and disease.
Hickmott, Peter W. Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology phone: 951-827-7308
Fax: 951-827-3985
E-mail:  peter.hickmott@ucr.edu
Organization and plasticity of cortical circuits.
Huffman, Kelly Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology phone: 951-827-4805
Fax: 951-827-3985
E-mail: kelly.huffman@ucr.edu
Molecular development and evolution of the neocortex. Using a molecular, genetic and neuroanatomical approach to study neocortical development and regionalization.
Korzus, Edward Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology phone: 951-827-4992
Fax: 951-827-3985
E-mail: edward.korzus@ucr.edu
Research is aimed at understanding how neural circuits hold knowledge about the world and guide behavior. Ed Korzus studies spatiotemporal dynamics of cortical information processing using genetic model system in conjunction with functional imaging, biochemical, electrophysiological and behavioral techniques.
Martins-Green, Manuela Ph.D. Professor, Department of Cell Biology & Neuroscience phone: 951-827-2585
Fax: 951-827-4286
E-mail: manuela.martins@ucr.edu
The role of chemokines in wound healing and tumor development.
Morton, Thomas H. Ph.D. Professor, Department of Chemistry phone: 951-827-4735
Fax: 951-827-4713
E-mail: thomas.morton@ucr.edu
Molecular mechanisms of receptor-ligand interactions; olfactory transduction in vertebrate species and its relationship to enzymatic catalysis.
Razak, Khaleel, Ph.D. Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology phone and Fax: 951-827-5060
E-mail: khaleel@ucr.edu
Sensory system development and plasticity, echolocation and sound localization behaviors, recovery from brain injury.
Saltzman, Wendy Ph.D. Associate Professor, Department of Biology phone: 951-827-6356
Fax: 951-827-4286
E-mail: wendy.saltzman@ucr.edu
Behavioral neuroendocrinology; social control of reproductive and endocrine function; parental behavior.
Stanley, B. Glenn Ph.D. Chair, Department of Psychology; Professor, Departments of Cell Biology & Neuroscience and Psychology phone: 951-827-5625
Fax: 951-827-3985
E-mail: glenn.stanley@ucr.edu
Neuronal control of eating behavior, disturbances of eating behavior, and neurotransmitters.
Zidovetzki, Raphael Ph.D. Professor, Department of Cell Biology & Neuroscience phone: 951-827-5628
Fax: 951-827-4286
E-mail: raphael.zidovetzki@ucr.edu
Transmembrane signal transduction; interaction of second messengers with lipid membranes; dynamics of cell surface receptors.

More Information

General Campus Information

University of California, Riverside
900 University Ave.
Riverside, CA 92521
Tel: (951) 827-1012

Career OpportunitiesUCR Libraries
Campus StatusDirections to UCR

Program Information

Cell Biology and Neuroscience
1001 Batchelor Hall

Ph.D. Program in Neuroscience
Tel: (951) 827-4716
Toll Free (800) 735-0717
E-mail: neuro@mail.ucr.edu

Footer